Things I've Been Seeing

Some Eggs and I

Once in a Sunday school in order to encourage repeat attendance, a man promised a group of children if they returned the following week, he would show them something no human had ever seen.  Wide-eyed, the following Sunday, they gazed at the man as he whipped out an egg, smacked it sharply, and plopped into a waiting dish the blob of yolk set in a translucent pool.

Eggs are beautiful, golden, smooth orbs within which is one of earth’s most perfect foods. Once as I was baking I observed these eggs on my counter and stopped to consider how splendid they are.

For a 25th anniversary gift to Jerry and me, Carolyn Myers presented us with this elegant piece of art, using as background medium an egg. I display this beauty from time to time, repacking it carefully when I put it away. In June when Jerry and I celebrate our 53rd anniversary, this piece will be 28 years old.

2 responses

  1. Frank

    I love the eggs. The shadows and light are well done.

    May 22, 2009 at 7:34 pm

  2. Thank you, Frank. One of my favorites also.

    May 22, 2009 at 8:13 pm

Leave a Reply

