Things I've Been Seeing

Memories of Sunflower and Tractor and Durango

During one of the afternoons while we were in Durango a couple of summers ago, as Jerry talked with a man at the field where they take people up in gliders,  I wandered about the adjoining property and was beckoned by…..

….this magnificent sunflower.

…and these who hung their heads

…and then I spied the ancient orange tractorand its elegant steering wheel…

When I look at these pictures now, that golden afternoon rushes back into my memory and lifts my heart, and I think my soul, just a bit. Is that not one of the joys of photography…takes us into our history for we have retained a swatch of a remarkable day.

12 responses

  1. Hi Shirley, thanks for you comment on David’s Photo Blog.

    Most of my stuff is now at

    http://dbm305.smugmug.com

    if you’d like to have a look

    Hi, David. Thank you for coming by. I will go to the new site.

    May 21, 2009 at 12:47 am

  2. Deb

    I wanted to see your photography, and just love your sunflowers!

    May 21, 2009 at 1:13 pm

  3. Thank you, Deb. I love photography, but am not accomplished at all. Just started this blog a month or so ago, and like to wander around the net and look at other people’s work. Helps me with my own, I believe.

    Thank you for the sunflower compliment. Isn’t it gorgeous. What I’m really wanting is a macro lens so I can take really close up shots–drops of water, bird’s eyes and such. I think I’m about ready to fork over the $400.00 or so it will cost me.

    Hope you come back.

    May 21, 2009 at 1:29 pm

  4. Snow

    Shirley, thank you for stopping by my blog. I think yours is wonderful. Lov the sunflowers and old tractor and the perspective is great. Your work is awe-inspiring.

    Snow

    May 21, 2009 at 10:31 pm

  5. Shirley: You definitely ARE an accomplished photographer; you’ve got a great eye! Love those close-ups!!

    You’ll really love a macro lens. I’m amazed at how versatile my Nikon 105mm macro lens is—it takes great close-ups as well as wonderful action photos.

    May 22, 2009 at 9:23 am

  6. Thank you, Snow and Susan for your kind remarks. I’m wanting a macro lens and will probably go ahead and buy one. At this point I am trying to decide what will be the most satisfactory one for me. I want to peer inside flowers and onto animal whiskers–that sort of thing. I also am captivated by water drops. Does your 105 macro do all those things?

    May 22, 2009 at 9:33 am

    • Shirley: The 105 definitely lets you get VERY close! I’m peering inside flowers all the time (no animals to get pics of whiskers, though).

      May 25, 2009 at 6:16 am

  7. Oh … my … goodness. That first shot of the magnificent sunflower … I’m speechless. It is definitely a magnificent sunflower, and your shot is fantastic!

    J. L. Fleckenstein

    May 22, 2009 at 9:45 am

  8. Firefly, your compliments mean a lot to me, for I consider you an exceptionally talented artist–in many areas. Thank you for coming by and for commenting. Thank you very much.

    May 22, 2009 at 9:55 am

  9. Shirley – These are beautiful shots. The colors and detail in the first two flower shots are fantastic. I love the old tractor shot. I really enjoy seeing photos of rustic farm equipment and buildings. I don’t get the chance to take many of them myself in the Washington DC area. 🙂

    Thanks for your visit to my blog and the comments on my posts. I’m always glad to see others enjoying my photos as I do.

    No, Kimberly I’m sure you don’t have too many farm items to photograph in our beautiful capitol city, but you know there are many other striking places. I’ve only been there a couple of times and would love to go again.

    Thanks for coming by and for your kind remarks.

    May 22, 2009 at 5:10 pm

  10. Wow, Shirley, the sunflower is magnificent! I’m impressed with all your photos! The farm equipment was interesting. I know people enjoy seeing vintage items. You have a great eye for color, mood, composition. I hope you keep going. There are great pictures everywhere, even Washington D.C. You’ll be surprised at what you start dreaming about to find a good picture once you get going. I’ve enjoyed it here! Thank you again for viewing a photograph of mine!

    Thank you very much, Lorrie. I do appreciate your kind and thoughtful remarks. I want to stay in touch.

    May 25, 2009 at 11:26 am

  11. That is a Stunner! Amazing sunflower shot! I like the tractor too. got some nice feel.

    May 25, 2009 at 1:20 pm

Leave a Reply

