Things I've Been Seeing

Yummy Dinner From Sweet Melina

There is nothing exceptional about these pictures, except that they tell a beautiful story and I’ve used them to post a reflection on the good life I live and the wonderful family God gave me. When Mike came to church on Sunday he showed me a simple brown bag which he put in the refrigerator. “Mel sent this.” I looked in the fridge, pulled out the page with writing on it, and as I often do, felt love for Melina, and noted again her generous and thoughtful spirit.

DSC_0003

On Monday, I heated up the little packets, slashed an X in each one, and Jerry and I sat down to dinner. It was piping hot and delicious; I wanted it to be a bit more spicy, added black pepper, then in one small portion of mine shook a few drops of  soy sauce. It was yummy. We didn’t use the lemon (which Melina had thoughtfully added in the bag) and we didn’t eat the bread.

DSC_0002

I had prepared each of us a salad dressed with olive oil.

DSC_0004

An exceptionally sweet and icy cold watermelon was already in our refrigerator. I cut part of it into chunks and that completed our meal.

DSC_0003

4 responses

  1. lisa currier

    mmmm.. that looks soooo good and looks easy to make. I might try tha t this saterday.

    June 2, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    • It was very good. I’m not sure what all Melina put in it before she gave it to us. I know it had shrimp, spaghett, bell pepper, and onions.

      June 2, 2009 at 4:20 pm

  2. This made me feel suddenly very…hungry! Beautiful shot…so full of richness and color!

    February 6, 2010 at 6:24 am

  3. Hi, Gladwell. Makes me hungry myself to view these photos again.

    Be blessed, always.

    February 6, 2010 at 3:10 pm

Leave a Reply

