Things I've Been Seeing

Remnants of Summer

Summer seems so far away right now; butterflies, a profusion of flowers, languid afternoons complete with chaise lounge, and cool dreamy evenings, where if you’re lucky you might have lightening bugs flitting about. (Sadly, we don’t have any in California, and probably none live in Arizona.) Yes, here we are in the dead of winter where most of us have either cold rain, hail, icicles, blankets of snow or all of it put together. The idea of sweet flowers and a lazy garden is captivating.

When I was in our shed a couple of days ago and found a bouquet of roses I had hung to dry, those flowers quite appealed to me, so I brought them right into my home, set up my “photography studio” and snapped a few pictures. I posted a couple on Flickr, but have more here you might enjoy. They’ll do–these dried specimens–until Spring and Summer comes, and then  we can bury our faces in the perfume of sprightly flowers and birds will sing and the sun will be warm.

2 responses

  1. Connie Cahill

    How Lovely! I enjoyed these roses, but maybe Bro Buxton will get you some more for Valentines Day!! It might be worth a few hints.

    February 8, 2010 at 11:36 pm

  2. Hi, Connie. Thanks for being here and for the compliments. Well, you never know about Valentine’s day. My husband is so good about buying me things.

    Will you be at meeting at Casa Grande this weekend? Brother Bernard will be there, you know.

    February 9, 2010 at 5:38 am

Leave a Reply

