Things I've Been Seeing

My Man (Day 7/365)

He’s been a little “under the weather” for the past couple of weeks, but because he is feeling better now, he decided to tackle a bit of shoveling off snow from our front deck. The day was beautiful; the light splendid, so I took up my camera and asked, “Mind if I take your picture?”

“Guess not,” he said as he continued with the shovel.

“I need practice with portraits. Don’t take enough of them,” I muttered as I dinked around with the exposure settings.

“Uh, Jerry, would you mind just standing still for  a minute. Look this way, please.”

He’s so sweet, he straightened up and smiled. Look how cute he is!

Want to see more? Hundreds of my pictures of my Flickr site.

12 responses

  1. Michael

    These make mw smile….love my dad

    January 7, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    • He’s cute, huh. I’m glad you love your dad so much, and glad that you let him know it.

      Love…..

      January 7, 2011 at 7:15 pm

  2. Pamela Baker

    Wonderful, wonderful picture. This is a perfect picture showing this gentle, kind man. We love him so much. He has been a mentor to my husband for several years. This picture belongs in a magazine or something. You should enter it for an award.

    January 7, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    • Sister Baker, thank you for these sweet remarks. Thank you and your husband for appreciating Brother Buxton.

      January 7, 2011 at 8:05 pm

  3. Whitlow said, “Looks like a Buxton to me.”
    I hope us don’t mind, I saved this pic for “Rete”
    Penny

    January 7, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    • Hey, Penny. Good to hear from you. Well, Whitlow is right! Don’t mind at all you giving the picture to Rete.

      Blessings and love.

      January 7, 2011 at 8:32 pm

  4. Deena Godair Cessna

    Love that smile!!!! Such a wonderful Godly man…

    January 8, 2011 at 2:58 pm

  5. Doretha

    Sister Buxton~~~ Your photography is awesome, and this picture of your hubby is priceless!! Love you both, Doretha Fields

    January 8, 2011 at 6:01 pm

  6. This is just the coolest picture. I love the character showing through in his face. He looks like such mischief. And the effect of the circular framing is great. I bet he’s fun to be around, and he probably keeps people on their toes with his gentle wit.

    You’ve done some great work so far this year. Have fun as you continue to shoot!

    January 8, 2011 at 11:09 pm

  7. dean

    Yep, that’s my Pastor Buxton!

    January 15, 2011 at 12:56 pm

  8. wynona

    oh what beauty of the light of the soul!!

    and you were able to capture it on photo!!

    January 17, 2011 at 2:33 pm

  9. wynona

    Sister Shirley,
    Love your photo work so very much.
    Is there any way I could coverse with you
    and Bro Jerry via E-mail with my E-address above?
    A question I have but not for the whole populace.
    If so put on subject *Shikinah Glory* so that
    it would elude the junk box.
    Thank you and blessings to you both.

    February 21, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Leave a Reply

