Things I've Been Seeing

Summer Fishing in January (Day 22/365)

As I walked beside Lake Gregory this morning, I noticed something down near the water, and saw that it was two middle-sized boys, and that they were fishing. They had been successful, for as I watched, from the cold mountain water, they pulled a stringer that held one trout.

I called. “Mind if I take your picture?”

They scrambled to face me, holding high their trophy. When I asked who had caught him, the smaller grinned and pointed to his friend.

Something has happened here in Crestline. In late December and early January we had record-breaking rainfall, and lots of ice and snow. Now, somehow summer has crept in.

Little boys know what to do during summer. These two gathered their tackle and went down to the lake. I was fortunate to pass them today as they indulged in a transient golden moment of boyhood.

(A couple more pictures of these boys are on my Flickr page.)


Summer Fishing in January

Originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton

2 responses

  1. I just LOVE this! Maybe because I’m a little partial to boys since I have two. 🙂

    January 22, 2011 at 7:12 pm

  2. Tena, they were just adorable. So eager to show me their catch.

    January 22, 2011 at 7:31 pm

Leave a Reply

