Things I've Been Seeing

To the Wind. To the Mist. (Day 107/365)

As I sat in church this morning, I observed two kinds of children; those who were accustomed to being in church, and those who were not. Not in all were there discernable differences, but my long experience in church work and in the hearing of  God’s Word assures me that those who at a young age are disciplined in the beauty of God are more likely to serve Him when they are adults.

Yet, there are no guarantees, and although God promises our children will never depart from Godly teaching, each soul ultimately must decide for himself. Before God–alone–will we stand, and there give account for our lives. Our short lives, our fleeting days.

“Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.” James 4:14

I thought of that this golden April afternoon as I stood on the shores of Lake Gregory. I watched as Ella scooped sand and pebbles into her tiny fist, and in her awkward little girl way, threw the drifting grains toward the lapping water.

Edit: April 18

…and today was laid to rest, our dear Brother Treece, a patriarch, a scholar, a preacher of the Gospel, a Christian.

…and gone just this morning to meet Jesus is my friend Russell Pound who I knew as a young man. He was gentle, faithful, and one who loved God.

…as a mist, a breeze, a flicker of the eye…is my life.

One response

  1. Pingback: By The Way (A Photo Essay) « God Things

Leave a Reply

