Things I've Been Seeing

Point of Shade (Day 126/365)

I’ve a little confession to make here: I wish I hadn’t committed to this 365, Picture a Day Project, or whatever one wishes to call it. Actually I haven’t committed to anyone except to myself and if I truly wanted to, of course, I could stop. Cease and desist. Quit. Be done. Finish. Terminate. Conclude. End….you get the message.

Ask me why I wish I were not entangled in this web of my own making and I would rush to explain. For persons who are not motivated to take many pictures, I suspect that such a project would be of great benefit, for they would be forced to take out their camera and arrange a shot or two. I am not in that category, for I love taking pictures, and do take pictures to the extent that I have files numbering in the thousands, a several-years-old Flickr account displaying thousands of shots, and this blog. Now, though, because of this personal commitment, I must take a picture every day, even when I don’t have time, nor the inclination. Thus the quality of my photography suffers.

Take today, for instance, and the last few, actually. I’m about a month or six weeks away from finishing up my fourth book and we’re leaving home around the first of June for an extended trip. Although I’m dedicated to photography and tremendously enjoy the hobby, I don’t want to do it now. I’m too busy with other things…but because of my commitment, I dash about and snap something, then often I feel terrible about what I’ve produced.

In my case, since I am a motivated amateur photography, I need to focus on improving my shots, not concentrating on taking more of them. But, I’ll stick with it, for through the month of June and July, Jerry and I will be extensively traveling, the book will be at the printers, and “all will (again) be right with the world.”

I was out of bed around 5:30 this morning and by 6:00 was upstairs in my writing hide-away, where I’ve stayed most of the day, and where I have produced a large amount of work. But, I hadn’t taken a picture! So a few minutes ago, I came downstairs, grabbed up my camera, and went to the upstairs deck where I snapped a shot of the top of a canvas umbrella. Impressive! Not!

2 responses

  1. Will it make you feel better if I told you that I completely and totally understand exactly how you feel? 😉 You’re so cute. ♥ you.

    May 6, 2011 at 11:22 pm

  2. Of course. I feel better already…except that this is a new day, and I must shoot again!

    Happy Mothers Day

    May 7, 2011 at 6:16 am

Leave a Reply

