Things I've Been Seeing

A Pair of Birds on My Mountain (Day 301/365)

The parking lot of the Crestline Chamber of Commerce overlooks Lake Gregory. I exited my Jeep, camera in hand, noting no one else was there. Late afternoon light slanted through the trees, both the spiky trees and the other ones. You would recognize them as being the round kind that children draw on papers their teachers lay out on little desks.

It had been a while since I had been there, a while since I had sat on a bench and listened, and sucked in new air, and gifted my eyes.

I sat. And heard a persistent, rather loud tapping. It seemed to come from almost directly over me. I looked. And saw.

He/She seemed oblivious of me and my camera.

As I walked toward my car preparing to leave, small birds darted about, then one settled on a limb near me. Sweet mountain blue bird. Soft. Non-assuming. I wonder if in His hand God held such a bird way back there in Eden.

 

3 responses

  1. Very nice Acorn Woodpecker and bluebird pictures

    October 28, 2011 at 10:58 pm

  2. Thank you Galen. That scarlet splash on the heads of those woodpeckers is brilliant.

    Blessings…..

    shirley

    October 29, 2011 at 7:14 am

  3. I can see myself sitting on that bench…
    Next to you…
    As you load my mind and heart with wisdom and experience.
    ♥u

    November 4, 2011 at 8:47 am

Leave a Reply

