Things I've Been Seeing

Woodpecker, Finch and First Snow (Day 308/365)

Snow is falling on Crestline, our first of the year. Through the glass wall of our study, I see clearly two bird socks–one is filled with finch food, the other with mixed bird food, which the finches don’t care to eat. During the heaviest part of the snow this afternoon, those tiny colorful birds flocked to their favorite sock. Carefully, I pulled open the door, so as not to disturb them. This brave fella stared right at me as I lifted my camera.

A bit later, I was startled to see a large bird on the other feeder; through the glass I captured his image. I believe he is a woodpecker. I’ve never seen one on these sock feeders before.

6 responses

  1. These photos just made me smile. Great ones too! thank you for sharing. 🙂

    November 4, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    • Thank you, Katie. I love looking at these beautiful birds. Glad they made you smile. Smiling is good. 🙂

      Blessings….

      Shirley

      November 4, 2011 at 4:08 pm

  2. Beautiful!

    November 4, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    • Thank you, Rick. It’s a gorgeous day here in the San Bernardino Mountains.

      Blessings…..

      Shirley

      November 4, 2011 at 4:09 pm

  3. wow nice birds .. and first one is more funny now it is starring at the viewers..
    http://bubblly.wordpress.com/2011/11/04/flowers1

    November 4, 2011 at 6:18 pm

  4. Yes, Balavasakan, that tiny bird stared straight at me as I stepped from our study and lifted my camera. Do you have finches in your part of the world? They are rather common here in this part of California. Beautiful little things.

    Blessings…..

    Shirley

    November 4, 2011 at 6:29 pm

Leave a Reply

