Things I've Been Seeing

Shrimp Scampi (Day 339/365)

While of course I’ve eaten Shrimp Scampi in restaurants, I had never made the dish myself until this evening. I had this shrimp I wanted to cook in a different way; Jerry suggested I try my hand at Scampi. I found a likely-looking recipe on the internet, gathered the ingredients, substituted a couple of things I didn’t have, and whipped up a delicious meal.

Initial prep consisted of chopping flat-leaf parsley, four cloves of garlic, and a little onion. Recipe called for one scallion which I didn’t have, so I used the onion instead.

After dredging a pound of shrimp in flour seasoned with freshly ground pepper, salt, Italian seasoning and red pepper flakes, in one-half cup of olive oil heated in my favorite iron skillet, I sizzled them for about 5 minutes.

With a slotted spoon, I transferred the golden shrimp to an oven-proof serving dish. Into the skillet now I placed the onion, garlic, and parsley. Cooked this over medium heat about three minutes, then placed the mixture atop the shrimp. Splashed a bit of wine into the skillet, cooked it down, deglazed and then added this to the shrimp.

I placed the shrimp under my broiler which I had previously heated, leaving the dish there three or four minutes while I finished up the pasta and asparagus.

DELICIOUS. A keeper recipe. Easy. Quick.

Adjustments I will make: Use a little less flour to dredge the shrimp. Add a bit more salt and hot seasoning. (Recipe called for cayenne which I didn’t have. Substituted red pepper flakes.)

__________________________

If you would like to be notified by email when I make a new post, please click follow at the top of this page.  Thank you for your interest.

Leave a Reply

