Things I've Been Seeing

Melina and Mother’s Day

It has not escaped notice that I am blessed with exceptional daughters-in-law. I own three of them; Dearrah (of Steve), Melina (of Mike), and Shawnna (of Andrew). Each of them has unique sterling qualities, and from time to time, I speak respectively of them.

Today, I want to say a few words about Melina; Melina and Mother’s Day.

Earlier in the week–might even have been last week–Mike, wanting to do something special for Mother’s Day, asked if I would like a lake/boat trip on Saturday afternoon. I loved the idea: Site Six at 1:00 was the plan. Melina would pick up fried chicken at Scotty’s.Image

Crossing the lake into the river, Melina asked for my camera, pointed it my way, and took this picture.

This is the magnificent site they chose for our picnic. The boat is large, and had to be tied a bit off the beach, so we had to wade in. The temperature hovered about 100 degrees, though  the shaded, slightly breezy area where sat our table was a perfect, cool spot.

ImageThis shot of the table is a hint of the exceptional Mother’s Day picnic Melina arranged. Included were fresh strawberries and blackberries, homemade “knock your clothes off” brownies, blueberry iced tea from hand-labeled bottles with a splash of seltzer water…and on. You get the idea.

Imagine my surprise then, on Sunday morning, when, from Melina, Mike presented me with a container filled with large, perfect roses, a hand-crafted card, and a picture Melina had taken of the snack table I had arranged during our moon-night. Exceptional. Beyond the mark.

On Sunday afternoon, I took the roses outside where against an old rock and wood wall, I snapped pictures and thought about Melina and her loving ways and how blessed I am to have her for a daughter-in-law. Take a look.

8 responses

  1. Your so sweet, you make me cry. You ooze in sweetness.
    Love You

    May 15, 2012 at 10:59 am

  2. You ooze a bit yourself, Dear.

    May 16, 2012 at 12:22 pm

  3. Pingback: Blessings Today « God Things

  4. Pingback: Roses Spring Eternal « Shirley Buxton's Photography

  5. Wow! Sis. Buxton, you really do have exceptional daughter-in-laws; well, I can speak from true knowledge of two. 😉 Looks like a perfect Mother’s Day. Love the pic of you.

    May 22, 2012 at 12:13 pm

  6. Rebecca Cowen

    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. Top notch!

    May 31, 2012 at 7:46 pm

Leave a Reply

