Things I've Been Seeing

Roses Spring Eternal

Though I have talked at length–and photographed at length–concerning the magnificent roses Melina gave me for Mother’s Day, I have not been quite finished. Finale today–I promise!

After their freshness had faded, I hung the roses upside down; after they had dried, I arranged them, sprayed them with stiff hairspray, and sprinkled them with fine sugar. I had visions of photographing the preserved bouquet down at the lake with the London Bridge as background.

Last evening, near sunset, I took my camera, a couple of lenses and the roses. Headed for the bridge.

———-

Though I knew what I had in mind, I wasn’t sure I would find something on which to place the roses that would give the view of the bridge I wanted. Voila! Immediately I found the spot.

And on a slatted bench, I positioned them.

In a barrel, with scrolled iron and developing evening light, my roses are spotlighted.

. . . on a stump.

My favorite: Exactly what I had in mind. Hmm…or is the first one with the bridge my favorite? What say you?

11 responses

  1. Jean Walter

    My favorite is the Bridge also. Love you!

    May 22, 2012 at 7:28 am

  2. Virginia Clark

    I love them all.

    May 22, 2012 at 7:29 am

  3. Thank you sweet ladies for your time here and your comments. Love you both.

    May 22, 2012 at 7:40 am

  4. Aline

    Beautiful Shirley… You have a great eye and are a great photographer

    May 22, 2012 at 9:57 am

  5. Shirley, I love all you write and photograph! Thanks for feeding me God’s comments on life…adore you. Now your flowers are preserved forever!! I painted floral stillifes for each
    season to do just that! Still waiting for the right winter floral arrangement. ๐Ÿ™‚ Love Sis.

    May 22, 2012 at 11:19 am

  6. Aline, thank you so very much. Now if I could just bake cookies as you do. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Naomi, what a treat to hear from you. Would love to see your work. Would love to see you!

    Blessings to all…….

    May 22, 2012 at 11:22 am

  7. Naomi, I just clicked over to the Fine Art Site. I’ll definitely be checking for your work over there.

    May 22, 2012 at 11:24 am

  8. I love the idea of photographing an item in different spots. I will copy some day. ๐Ÿ™‚
    My favorite? Slatted bench.

    May 22, 2012 at 12:08 pm

  9. Tena, maybe we can scat out for some photography when we’re up that way. Pick out a great spot. Cool, huh!

    May 22, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    • Okay, Sis. Buxton. Sounds like a good plan. ๐Ÿ™‚

      May 22, 2012 at 1:32 pm

  10. Rachel

    I moved away from Havasu years ago and miss it so. I found this blog from Googling images of Havasu. Absolutely beautiful photos of the roses at the bridge. My favorite is the same as yours… the last one.

    November 14, 2012 at 7:17 pm

Leave a Reply

