Things I've Been Seeing

Snow and a Redhead Woodpecker

Often here in the San Bernardino Mountains it snows at night, and because I love to watch the falling snow so much, I am always a little disappointed when this happens, except that it is a treat to open the morning blinds to a snow-covered landscape. We’re in the midst of a major storm right now and it has snowed off and on all day. Gorgeous. I looked out the windows at 3:30 am and saw it coming down in white masses.

The snow, though extremely beautiful, is a problem for the birds. I saw several of them picking about on the ground, and a few utilized one of the feeders. Quite a few woodpeckers hang about in our trees. Their heads are the most gorgeous red.

untitled (21 of 26) untitled (24 of 26) untitled (25 of 26) untitled (26 of 26)It’s dark outside now and the snow is still falling. Hope they’re all snugged away–warm somewhere.

Do you have birds in your yard? What kind? What color? Love to hear from you.

4 responses

  1. BEAUTIFUL photos!

    Sounds like you two are fairing well during the storm and I’m glad. I think of you often during every winter and must admit I worry about you two sometimes, but I trust God has angels looking out for you. πŸ™‚

    Birds, eh? Hmmm….well….I will be honest with you. I do not like birds. Ever since our cherry orchard began bearing fruit, I have detested birds. Sorry. The reason is because they eat our cherries! The worst is the European Starling! Why, oh why did God make that horrible bird? Lol. They make a mess too. They eat part of the cherry and leave the rest hanging on the tree so the ants come and the bees and then the juices drip down on other cherries so when we pick them they become a slimy mess. And…they poop it right out! Onto other cherries! Oh, how I hate that bird. I heard that the Queen of England gave the European Starling to America as a gift. Thanks a lot!, Queen of England! They produce like crazy too! They are the bane of every farmer’s existence.

    And then there’s the House Finch. They just poke one hole in the cherry and leave it! One little hole. Sigh….

    Thank you for letting me rant….I feel better. πŸ˜‰

    P.S. I love all birds of prey. They are so majestic and beautiful. Oh, and they are the Starling’s predator. Now if we could only get them to come hang out in our orchard. πŸ˜‰

    February 8, 2013 at 8:14 pm

  2. Rebecca Hampton Barnette

    I love birds, too. Have several Bluebird boxes around my yard. They have nested, probably 20yrs. or more. I have Blue Jays which are a lighter blue than the ones in Lake Tahoe. Have Robins, Cardinals, Hummingbirds (love to watch at my feeders), Whip-Poor-Wills, Hawks, Owls, Doves, Red -Headed Woodpeckers (a few without the red), Blackbirds, Crows, Sparrows, Meadowlark, Falcons & more. There was woods around us for years (3 houses on our street). Then houses everywhere across the street & still building. We’ve lost some wildlife, deer, etc. We have a light in our front yard & 6 to 8 deer would come in our yard all hours of the night. Wayne put corn under the light so we could see them. We also have an acorn tree which they loved. Sorry to say we don’t see them anymore.

    February 12, 2013 at 3:54 pm

  3. Rebecca, somehow I overlooked your comment until right now. Your place sounds wonderful. Love……

    April 3, 2013 at 8:55 pm

Leave a Reply

